Skip to content

Chemistry 501 Seminar: “Collaborative Approach for C-H Functionalization”

Thursday, 20 October, 2016

UT Host:   Dr. Ampofo Darko

Speaker:  Dr. Huw Davies

Asa Griggs Candler Professor/Director of Graduate Studies Chemistry Professor, Emory University

Title:  “Collaborative Approach for C-H Functionalization”

Abstract: The development of practical methods for site selective C-H functionalization is of intense current interest. This presentation will describe a collaborative approach towards achieving new C-H functionalization strategies and our recent advances in the C-H insertion chemistry of donor/acceptor-substituted carbenoids. A series of chiral dirhodium catalysts have been developed for this chemistry and they are capable of controlling which C-H bond is functionalized.  The application of these new synthetic strategies to the synthesis of natural products and pharmaceutical targets will be described.

Biography: Huw M. L. Davies was born in Aberystwyth, Wales, UK. He received his B. Sc. degree from University College Cardiff, Wales (1977) and his Ph.D degree from the University of East Anglia (1980).  After a post-doctoral position at Princeton University (1980-1983), he joined the faculty at Wake Forest University (1883-1995). After being promoted to full professor he moved to the University at Buffalo, the State University of New York (1995-2008) where he held the positions of UB Distinguished Professor and Larkin Professor of Organic Chemistry. In 2008 he moved to Emory University as the Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Chemistry. 

Professor Davies’ research emphasizes the development of new enantioselective synthetic methods and their applications in total synthesis and drug discovery. A major current theme of his program is catalytic asymmetric C–H functionalization by means of rhodium-carbene induced C–H insertion. He is currently the Director of the NSF Phase II Center for Chemical Innovation for Selective C-H Functionalization, which brings together 23 faculty members from 15 universities. 

Professor Davies is actively involved in the chemical community, having served as the Executive Officer of the 2003 National Organic Symposium, the 2005 Program Chair of the Gordon Conference on Heterocyclic Compounds, the 2005 Chair of the Organic Division of the American Chemical Society, and Co-Organizer of the ACS Organic Division Assistant Professor Symposium at the Fall ACS meeting since 2006.  He is an Associate Editor for Chemical Society Reviews and Organic Syntheses. Recent awards include the American Chemical Society Cope Scholar Award (2005), Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2007), Fellow of the American Chemical Society (2009), Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2012), Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (2015), and the 2013 eEROS Reagent of the Year Award.



2016 Fall Chemistry Schedule:

Web Cast:  This seminar is not web cast.



Buehler Hall
Room 555
1420 Circle Drive
Knoxville, TN 37996

Event Contact

Pam Roach

Phone: 974-3260

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.